Establishing a routine was suggested to me as part of my survey results from  procrastinus.com.  It makes sense – I’ve tried to establish a routine for other things, like exercising, but I’ve been resistant to it for getting work done.

If I’m honest with myself, the reason I’ve been resistant to setting a routine is that it will stand in the way of my favorite procrastination activities, like tv and facebook and surfing my favorite sites.

The reason it would stand in my way is that I would never prioritize these activities, so I would never include them in my routine.  Which scares me.

So I’m going to keep these fears in mind, because I want to be successful.  And I think that I will set myself up for failure if I come up with an “ideal” routine that I couldn’t stick to.  I need to recognize where I’m at, if I want to improve.

Once upon a time I couldn’t do a push-up.  And the way I got better wasn’t by trying to do oodles of push-ups.  It was by starting small, and increasing my challenge in nice achievable steps.  I’m going to apply those lessons to this, and start with a small routine that I can expand on later.

Step 1: A smidgeon of a routine

The equivalent of a wall push-up, something that I can definitely do, I just need to commit to doing it.

Every morning, at 10am.  I will do something productive: I will open Word and work on one of the three projects that I have outstanding.  It doesn’t matter how long I work on it, but I can’t just “fake it” by opening it and then going back to procrastinating.  I need to actually do some work.

